BBQ & Bats? Only in Austin, Texas

I’ve been awake since 4am and I figured this is probably the only time I can catch up on my posts. It’s has been a great two months full of travels and visitors from my amazing friends and hello, FOOTBALL!

Oh my poor team – one day, one day – which reminds me to the memories of Austin this year. Can you believe I’ve never been to Austin? Crazy? I think so. My friend Dan was kind of enough to fly me over to Houston to take a mini road trip to Austin and explore it together for the first time.

I haven’t been around hot weather this year and the entire weekend, it reminded me of hot summer days in NYC. Definitely do not miss this type of weather. Along our way to Austin, we stopped at Buc-ee’s.

IMG_5459

IMG_5457 IMG_5458

I’m not so sure why people rave about this convenience store but it was probably one of the biggest rest stops where there were so many snacks! Y’all know I was in heaven 😛

We didn’t do much on our first night in Austin as we were tired from tequila the night before and I suppose the drive. Explored some of the bars, tried out a Mexican restaurant (it was okay), and of course walked the infamous 6th street.

IMG_5456

IMG_5455 IMG_5454

The next day, we decided to hit the town on the most hottest day on our trip to explore our surroundings. From our hotel, it was about a 30 minute walk to Texas Capitol. It’s a beautiful building to just get lost and explore.

IMG_5453 IMG_5452 IMG_5451 IMG_5450 IMG_5449 IMG_5448 IMG_5447 IMG_5446

It would’ve been great to watch a game at University of Texas but instead we got to look from the outside. Now if only the Aztecs can step up their game!

IMG_5445 IMG_5443

Of course, when you are in Austin, you must grab some BBQ. We decided to go to a place where the lines were not outrageous like Franklin’s. I don’t remember the last time I waited in line for more than 20 minutes for food  but we waiting about an hour for La Barbecue. It’s a food truck that gives out free beer from a keg while you are waiting in line.

IMG_5444 IMG_5441 IMG_5394

There wasn’t much left by the time we got to the front, but we ended up with the bean and corn salsa, brisket, pulled pork sandwich, oh and a side of okra. Best pork sandwich!

IMG_5440

Later that evening, we walked towards the The Ann W. Richards Congress Avenue Bridge to watch the infamous bats fly out from under the bridge at sunset. At first, I didn’t think much of it but it was nice to see the sunset and look at the skyline swarming of smelly bats!

IMG_5437 IMG_5438

IMG_5462-1

Afterwards, we went to probably the best seafood restaurant I’ve been to in years. Recommended by a lot of our friends and random strangers, we dined at Perla’s. A great atmosphere, amazing food, and a friendly staff. It was a short trip but great company made it a wonderful trip. Until next time, cheers and thanks for reading my blog.

IMG_5435 IMG_5431

Love To Hear From You!