Shakshouka what?

Last year around this time, I was living in Australia and getting eaten alive by mosquitoes. It’s crazy that it has been about a year since then and it feels like I just started life out here in NYC. I’ve been here for exactly 5 months! Kudos to me.

I was looking at my monthly budget and noticed as always, that I spend so much money on food. When I was in South America with Beverly, our grocery budget was very minimal. At the hostel, it would either be a shared meal between my sister and I, veggies and some protein, or ramen. We wanted to use the majority of our money on adventures such as climbing a freaking volcano in the cold ass weather, carpool with the local Peruvians to get to a town to get near Machu Picchu, and or bus tickets across each country. Now, if only I had knew what Shakshouka was back then. I’ll get back to you on the oh so delicious meal in a bit. All I know is that our meals would’ve been a bit more exciting.

I am trying to save money right now to go back to California for weddings, bachelorette parties, bridal showers, etc. So I gotta get creative with my cooking.

This post is dedicated to my sister Beverly for hustling when we were out traveling in foreign countries and eventually getting sick of bread, ham, and cheese.

So what exactly is Shakshouka? An amazing meal with basically things that you already have in your pantry. It’s a Tunisian dish of eggs baked in a tomato stew with spices such as cumin and paprika. That’s basically it. It’s healthy and cost friendly. Exactly what I need right now. I made this meal last night at 10p for  my roommate and friend. Enjoy!

Ingredients that I used were: zucchini, onions, mushrooms, roasted peppers, jalapeño, tomatoes, cumin, paprika, red chilli flakes s&p, spinach, and eggs

20140225-101814.jpg20140225-101800.jpg

3 responses to “Shakshouka what?

Love To Hear From You!

