The year of 2013 – Ready for 2014

2013 –  I learned to be alone and love me for me.

As most of you know, 2012 was not my year even though I had decided to leave my “old life” behind and travel the world that ended this year in July. You would think I would be the happiest person ever; however, it was still a rough year. 2013, was more of a recovering year and being okay with what had happened to me in 2012 and the decisions that I made. I wanted to travel on my own because I wanted to know what it was like to be alone for once. For many years, I relied on people or loved ones to be with me on everything that I do. I don’t know how I had turned into this lady but it’s not what I wanted for myself. Therefore, I left in the beginning of the year to travel on my own. I wanted to know what it was like to make my own decisions, be independent, and not rely on anyone. It was the most amazing journey that I have ever experienced and although it was tough, I will never trade what I learned for a decision that could’ve been unknown.

It’s crazy to look back at my accomplishments, goals, and crazy adventure I put myself this year. I wouldn’t say the things below were on my “bucket” list. They were challenges and situations that I put myself through because I wanted it to test my determination, motivation, and emotions. I can’t wait for what the year of 2014 will bring me. It’s going to be my year. I was broken for the longest time and had the best support system ever to help me through my situations. I am still learning more about myself but I love being alone more than anything and just doing me for now.

I am currently living in NYC and it’s been exactly 3 months. Crazy! I have 3 part-time jobs. I know… I am going backwards. I’ve always worked 40-60/hrs a week since I got out of college in a career oriented position. This is the first time in years that I am working at three different jobs just to make it in NYC. I work at two gyms and at a wine boutique. My passion is culture, travel, adventures, food, and wine. Hopefully, something will stick and I can make my passion into something that I love working for.

I’ve moved 5x now. I also have to find a place by Jan 10th for my 6th move. Ha. I can do it! This journey living on the East Coast with just a handful of friends is pulling me in all directions. To leave my family and friends behind on the West Coast and to live in an unknown city where it has been tough to find my “career” and a core group of friends. I am still hustling out here and will continue to do so until I am satisfied with what I have. For those that are reading this, let me know what your adventures are going to be for the year of 2014. Perhaps I can help inspire you to do something. Yes, the way I am doing it may be rough or crazy but every one is different.

For those that always wanted to do something but just didn’t have the guts to do it. Just do it. What do you have to lose? Yes, maybe some money along the way, your career, failure, but hey,  just read this quote, it gets me every time I read this:

“Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things that you didn’t do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines. Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover.”

Here are some random fun adventures I have done this year:

Jan:

– I was gearing up for my trip to go to Australia on my own.

– Visited Napa Valley for the first time ever… crazy I know. for a wine lover.

– Spent NYE in San Francisco for the first time

– Camped at Malibu, CA

Feb:

– Flew to New Zealand – Rappelled down a cave, ziplined and went tubing underground.

– Moved to Australia – Stayed with a friend that I met years ago when I had played WoW. Yup. That happened. Thank you Jordan!

– Had my first kangaroo, tim tams, and Vegemite!

March:

– Met an awesome friend name Shawn and an amazing adventure together

– Went camping with friends I met in South America from the year before at Minnie Waters, Australia

– Had over 36+ mosquito bites within 5 minutes

– Met a traveler in Australia – Jasmine, where we both decided to leave Australia and backpack around SE Asia.

– Flew to Thailand

April:

– Hitchhiked for the first time

– Met many foreigners

– Was in a parade for Thailand’s New Years

– Went to Thailand, Laos, and Cambodia

– Volunteered at an orphanage in Cambodia

– Stayed with an awesome girlfriend (Rowena) in Sydney that I had met in New Zealand

May:

– Was in Cairns to see the Great Barrier Reef and never got to see it

– Met my Australian cousins for the first time and stayed with them in Melbourne

– Flew back to the states and surprise my mom for Mother’s day and celebrated my dad’s bday!

– Flew to San Jose to meet up with a friend that I met online

– Went to Sonoma for the first time

June:

– Lived on an island off of Vietnam – where  my parents are from

– Spearfished and had fresh fish on the beach

– Climbed a coconut tree

July:

– Adventures in San Francisco – thought I was going to move here instead of NY

August:

– Stayed in a cabin in Mammoth

– One of my beautiful girlfriend had her bridal shower in San Diego

– Experienced my first Bacherlotte party! I think it was 5 days of non-stop partying 😛

September:

– Went back to San Francisco and realized it wasn’t for me and decided to move to NYC instead

– Jeanne and Paul got married – I was honored to be a bridesmaid

– Moved to NYC with just one suitcase and a backpack

October:

– Moved 5x in New York

– Had pizza at 5 different locations in one week – ha!

– Spent a week in New Hampshire

– Was in Boston and Connecticut

November:

– Flew back to California

– Experienced the best bagel ever!

– Celebrated Rachel’s engagement – bridesmaid woot!

– Celebrated Jeanne and Sundy’s first pregnancy!

December:

– Had my 2nd CrossFit Competition ever

– Decided to run a half marathon for 2014

– Back in California – had my first carne asada burrito this year!

2014 here I come!

Love To Hear From You!

