Day 4 – Stir Fry Tofu and Fish

It’s 8:20am on a rainy Sunday morning. I have already run for 30 minutes, did a small mini wod, and had breakfast.

My body is itching with some mosquito bites and the rain doesn’t help it! However, I rather have it like this than scorching hot humid weather.

Yesterday, Hoang’s wife taught me how to make her version of a stir fry tofu with veggies and fish. Keep in mind that they don’t use any measuring tools so I just guessed it from what I saw.

Prep the veggies and tofu. My aunt used carrots and some sort of squash. In a bowl, add 2 spoonfuls of sugar, a small amount of pepper, some chao, small amount of water, 2TBSP soy sauce.

Sauté the tofu and add the sauce. Remove from pan. Add the veggies. Add more sugar if needed. Add cabbage and the rest of the tofu back into the pan. Done! Sooo good.

Ca Mu – Grouper Fish

I’m still not sure what kind of fish this is but it’s so tasty when it’s caught the day of and cooked that day to eat!

Basically cut the fish in half. Heat the pan with oil and add salt once the oil is ready. Add the fish and cover to fry it.

Meanwhile, add 1 chili pepper, stem of green onions, and 1 TBSP sugar. Mix it until it is crushed thoroughly, and add 1 TBSP chili sauce and ¼ cup of water.

Turn the fish over and after 3 minutes; add the sauce and green onions.

At my grandma’s house, we have roosters where we can have fresh eggs, herbs, aloe vera, and coconut trees. Similar to what my mom has at home.

The majority of my day was giving gifts away to both my parent’s family. I was sad that I wasn’t able to give back anything. It’s crazy how a small bottle of Victoria Secret’s lotion can brighten a 6 year old child or two mini skirts from Forever 21 can make my cousin smile forever. Those gifts were from my sisters. The reason why we had so many luggages was because my mom had filled it with medicine, gifts, and other sorts of things that our family had asked for. It was great to see that our family was very appreciative of my mom and dad. Of course we had to throw in a few bottles of Remy Martin. I’ll post pictures tomorrow hopefully.

It’s crazy to see my first cousins that is close to my age have a family of three already! Every one is wondering why I don’t have a husband yet. Ha! They also said that I need to stay out of the sun, clear up my skin, and stop traveling so that I can give back. One of these days I would love to be able to provide. I have cousins back in the states but its different when ALL of your first cousins, aunts, and uncles are here on the island. It’s a different connection and relationship that you have and I know I will miss every one once I am back. My mom’s eldest sister braided my hair and that small task brought so many memories back when I was 8. My mom’s parents are the only couple on the island that are still alive. It’s not common to see a husband and a wife at 83 and 90 to be strong and still alive. The death rate is around  70s on the island. I am so thankful that my grandparents are able to understand, see, and talk to me!

My cousins are taking me somewhere today. It’s raining like crazy.

Love To Hear From You!

