Easter Weekend – Kangaroo, Emu, and Goanna? Queensland Australia

What a great morning eating my healthy breakfast of oatmeal with mixed berries and a cup of coffee. Sounds simple but am feel goods on the tummy after my camping trip. Random note: The after smell of the rain is one of my favorite smells on this earth.

I got back last night from a 2 night camping trip in the wilderness of Yuraygir National Park in New South Wales of Australia and let me tell you, it was the first time that I was not prepared for the adventure, wilderness, and many more.

I’m not sure if this is popular in the States, but in Oz, Easter holiday means that the majority of shops, grocery stores, transportation is limited for practically four days. What does this mean? You pack your car and head to the wilderness for some buck wild craziness in the woods.

Sam's Jeep

Every year, Sam and his friends hosts a weekend getaway at Yuraygir National Park, 3 1/2 hours south of the Gold Coast. We had tons of activities planned for this trip: fishing, swimming, bonfires on the beach, eating fresh oysters on the spot, 4×4 on the sand, etc.

The ride to the park is so beautiful with its luscious green trees, pretty blue skies, and rolling hills. Upon arrival, the tent that I was supposed to be in didn’t have poles and the mattress I had didn’t have the mattress. Haha, it’s okay, I’m pretty sure I can rough it out. Again, I hate not having my camping supplies!

Roadtrip The view of our campsite Our Campsite Yuraygir National Park Roadtrip

When I had left the Gold Coast, it was sunny and had no chance of rain in sight. However, after a few hours of sunshine, the clouds rolled in and it did not look promising. After setting up our fire, the rain kicked in every hour. It wasn’t that bad considering we had a canopy to move to once it started raining but the bugs were on the prowl to bite every part of my body! What to do when it’s raining?

Try all the different types of beers/spirits that Oz has to offer. I finally tried XXXX Gold (water), Tooheys New (ok), Wahoo (better), MKD (I feel like I am in HS again with wine coolers). Again, I was disappointed with what OZ has to offer in terms of good beers. I seriously thought everything tasted like water down booze to me but learned that the standard alcohol content in Australia has 6 grams of alcohol and the standards in the US is 14 grams!

Cold!

The next day, the weather was a bit better. Some of the ladies and I did a small trek along the coast. Afterwards, I ran along the beach and was feeling blessed. White beautiful sand in a tropic area of Australia with barely any one in sight.

Along the coast Trail Cliff View Cliff View Trek

Funny Faces

When Katie and I were whipping up some food, I noticed that a Goanna was on the prowl for some food in our area. Every one told me that they don’t usually bite humans unless something aggravate them. While I was taking a picture of Katie, the Goanna, literally, ran after me. The only thing I was thinking was that I really need to get health insurance for my travels…I was told that if I was to get a bite from one of these lizards I would have a nasty infection due to the bacteria they carry.

Afterwards, since we were not able to do a lot of the activities that were planned, we decided to take our bottle of wine, jeep, fishing rods and go for a spin.

Kat, Fal, Myself, and CJ Being funny Chilling Dancing on the beach Relaxing Oh Wine. Fishing Fun Times

The night was lovely meeting new people but I was scared to go to to the bathroom at night with the Goanna being active around campsite! The only down side, my left foot got attacked by sandflies and it is now swollen and I can barely walk on it without any pain.

I guess s’mores is an American thing because none of the Aussies knew what I was talking about. Luckily, we had marshmallows and Easter eggs. I showed them how to roast a marshmallow and we smashed it between a chocolate egg. It was pretty darn good.

Roasting Marshmallows

The next day, we drove to a cove near by to chill and fish. Check out the shelter and fire that Pete built on the beach. After a few hours, it was pouring and we decided to not spend a 3rd night that we had originally planned. Packed in the rain and headed home.

Shack on the beach Fire on the beach

While leaving the park, I finally spotted my first Kangaroo and Emu. An Emu is the largest bird native in the country. These two animals are on the coat of arms for Australia. I believe it’s the only country that eats their own coat of arms.

Kangaroo! Emu

Aussies do love their “barbies” (barbeque), I don’t think I can look at eggs or meat anymore…

Finally gave in and got my first Maxibon! This brand is only availale in Australia, Egypt, Europe, and Chile. Honeycomb flavor! Basically it is an ice cream sandwich: one half is crunchy and the other side is smooth. Happy camper πŸ™‚

Maxibon

2 responses to “Easter Weekend – Kangaroo, Emu, and Goanna? Queensland Australia

Love To Hear From You!

