Watch out people…it’s a….turkey? Goldcoast Australia

It’s finally another sunny day and there are high hopes to what the Gold Coast can offer. Since I am not working this week, I definitely need to get out of the house and do/try something.

I just got back from a wonderful day/evening. Believe it or night, I went to a COD Black Ops Tournament. Although, I would’ve loved to be a part of the competition, I don’t know how to play on XBOX.

Our day started by taking the bus from Southport to Burleigh Heads. It’s close to an hour bus ride and honestly, it might be cheaper to drive than to take the bus here! It cost us $4 bucks one way for the off-peak hours! Once you are there, you will noticed that the environment has  a vintage feel, with bakeries, quirky coffee cafes, and organic markets on the streets near the bus stop.

Burleigh Heads

Park

Burleigh Beach Burleigh Beach Burleigh Beach

If you are facing the beach, to your right, one may reach the Burleigh Heads National Park. The park is pretty small compared to all of the national parks I’ve been too; however, it’s nice for a morning run or a leisure walk with your friend.

Me!

Here you are led to a road where you can walk to the top for a look out. While walking with my roommate Jordan, we were eaten by some bugs and had  met a random turkey! Formally known as an Australia Brushturkey or Scrub Turkey. Keep in mind that this is not similar to the turkeys back at home in the States. Are they dangerous? Nah.

Scrub Turkey!

While walking through the park, you can find koalas, seaeagles, or possums, and many more. The flora that are found at the park can be items such as hibiscus tree, Pandanus, or Swamp Sheoak.

Look Out Look out

You would think that after the hike up to the top of the hill, I would enjoy a delicious beer; however, before the hike even started, I really wanted to try my first Lamington. This dessert is an origin from Australia. This dessert is basically a sponge cake with a thin layer of chocolate frosting with coconut flakes.

Lamington Lamington

There are many claims as to how the “Lamington” has been brought about; however, there isn’t evidence as to how this recipe came about. It was named after Lord Lamington who was the Governor of Queensland from 1896 to 1901.

I honestly thought the cake was going to taste dry but it was one of the delicious desserts I’ve had in a while. Perhaps because I’ve been on a good regimen of not eating sweets due to my Cross Fit training; however, it was a moist sponge cake I’ve ever had. The one I had purchased was from McLeods Bakery  on James St. You must try it here! It was the best $3.10 spent!

Overall, it was a good day in Burleigh. Until next time! I finished this cake in less than 3 minutes 🙂

Yum

2 responses to “Watch out people…it’s a….turkey? Goldcoast Australia

Love To Hear From You!

